From 1 April 2020, this website will not be updated.
For the latest local health and care information, visit
On 1 April 2020, NHS South East London Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) was established. The new CCG is made up of the previous six south east London CCGs in Bexley, Bromley, Greenwich, Lambeth, Lewisham and Southwark. Information that has been held previously by those six CCGs transferred to the new CCG on 1 April 2020. The new CCG will become the new controller for the data held by the superseded organisations. If you have any further questions about the use of data by NHS SEL CCG, please contact

Internal Links

Equality and diversity

The CCG is committed to ensuring that its processes (both for commissioning and as an employer) eliminate discrimination and treat everyone with fairness, respect, equality, dignity and autonomy. These principles are incorporated into everyday practice, policies and procedures so that promoting equality and diversity is a key characteristic of the whole organisation.

We ensure that our actions and working practices meet with the spirit and intention of the Human Rights Act (1998) and the Equality Act (2010) which consolidates existing equality legislation for these protected characteristics:

  • age
  • disability
  • gender reassignment
  • marriage and civil partnerships
  • pregnancy and maternity
  • race
  • religion or belief
  • sex (male or female)
  • sexual orientation


The Public Sector Equality Duty (PSED)

The Equality Act 2010 brings together all previous equality legislation into one Act. It simplifies and strengthens the law in important ways to help tackle discrimination and inequality. The Act, which came into force in April 2011, includes a public sector equality duty replacing the separate duties relating to race, disability and gender equality.

The public sector equality duty requires all public bodies to demonstrate how they have complied with the duty on an annual basis. This means that NHS Bexley CCG must show compliance with both the general and specific duties of the PSED. The general duty asks organisations to have due regard to the need to:

  1. Eliminate unlawful discrimination, harassment, victimisation and any other conduct prohibited by the Equality Act 2010
  2. Advance equality of opportunity between people who share a protected characteristic and people who do not share it
  3. Foster good relations between people who share a protected characteristic and people who do not share it.

In line with the requirements of the Equality Act, the CCG works with service users, local interest groups and staff to develop an Equality Delivery System (EDS2) and is committed to undertaking Equality Impact Assessments (EIAs), which involve assessing the likely or actual effects of policies or services on people who use them. 

The CCG’s equality reports describe how equality is being integrated into the work of NHS locally. Please see the documents available in the ‘downloads’ box in the bottom, left-hand menu.  


Workforce Race Equality Standard (WRES)

The CCG published its WRES data and action plan for 2018/19, which is available to access from the ‘downloads’ box in the bottom, left-hand menu.


Equality and diversity documents:

Terms of reference (TOR)


30 January 2018

19 December 2017

3 May 2017

24 January 2017


For any enquiries relating to equality and diversity in Bexley, please contact, NHS Bexley CCG's head of patient experience and equalities Annie Gardner