From 1 April 2020, this website will not be updated.
For the latest local health and care information, visit
On 1 April 2020, NHS South East London Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG) was established. The new CCG is made up of the previous six south east London CCGs in Bexley, Bromley, Greenwich, Lambeth, Lewisham and Southwark. Information that has been held previously by those six CCGs transferred to the new CCG on 1 April 2020. The new CCG will become the new controller for the data held by the superseded organisations. If you have any further questions about the use of data by NHS SEL CCG, please contact

Who is eligible for CHC?


Who is eligible for CHC?

There is a national framework which states that eligibility should be based on someone’s healthcare needs and not their diagnosis. It is not linked to savings or income levels.

Many people who are assessed for CHC are reaching the end of their lives or face a long-term condition, because of a disability, accident or illness. They can have a wide range of healthcare conditions and may receive funding for just a few weeks or many years. 

Examples of people who may be assessed as eligible for CHC:

People near the end of their lives 
Example 1: they may have conditions like advanced cancer or heart disease, or be a frail elderly person with a rapidly deteriorating condition and entering a terminal phase of their life. Typically people near the end of their lives will receive care for weeks or a few months. 

Frail elderly people with complex physical or psychological needs 
Example 2: this could include frail elderly people with a number of conditions, such as dementia, weight loss, lack of mobility or Parkinson’s disease. Care can often be provided for several years.

People, aged 18 and over, with long-term healthcare needs 
Example 3: this could include people who have had an accident that has left them with long-term healthcare needs, such as a spinal injury. It may also include people with long-term conditions such as multiple sclerosis. People will often receive care for many years and their eligibility for CHC may change as their healthcare needs change.

To find out more about how the areas of need (domains) for NHS CHC, please click here.

NHS CHC - video step 2

Who is eligible for NHS continuing healthcare?

Take a look at the film below which explains more about the assessment for receiving CHC.


Eligibility for NHS continuing healthcare funding is determined by a detailed assessment which looks at all aspects of a person’s health and social care needs.  As part of this, four key areas are considered:

  • The type of condition or treatment required
  • The complexity of the condition (symptoms that interact and are therefore difficult to manage or control)
  • The intensity of the condition (one or more health needs so severe they require regular care and support)
  • The unpredictably of the condition (unexpected changes in condition that are difficult to manage and present a risk to the individual or to others).